PEAR Forum :: PHP Extension and Application Repository

PEAR Forum Forum Index
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Problems Installing on a Shared Host

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PEAR Forum Forum Index -> Installation, Upgrading & Configuration
View previous topic :: View next topic  
gr8dane

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 3:50 am    Post subject: Problems Installing on a Shared Host Reply with quote

I'm new to PEAR and am trying to install a copy to my site on a shared host (Linux). According to the manual (http://pear.php.net/manual/en/installation.shared.php), in order to install "the traditional way," I should "create a directory that is NOT in your publicly accessible web space ... to be readable and writable by any user," then install to this directory using go-pear.php. Accordingly, I apparently successfully installed PEAR to a directory one level above public_html (/home/my/path/pear).

The manual further states that, "To use the files, you must set the include path in scripts on the website.
Code:
<?php
ini_set('include_path', '~/pear/lib' . PATH_SEPARATOR . ini_get('include_path'));

// From PHP 4.3.0 onward, you can use the following, which especially useful on shared hosts:
set_include_path('~/pear/lib' . PATH_SEPARATOR . get_include_path());
?>

"

I uploaded the following script to test the installation:
Code:
<?php
ini_set('include_path', '/home/my/path/pear' . PATH_SEPARATOR . ini_get('include_path'));
set_include_path('/home/my/path/pear' . PATH_SEPARATOR . get_include_path());

require_once 'System.php';
var_dump(class_exists('System'));
?>

I obviously did something wrong somewhere along the line, because when I browse to this file, I get the following:
Code: